Group of Prof. Franz Bracher - Faculty for Chemistry and Pharmacy

Prof. Bracher


Department of Pharmacy
Center for Drug Research
Butenandtstraße 5-13
D - 81377 Munich

Room C 3.054
Tel. +49-89-2180-77301
Fax. +49-89-2180-77802


Office: Melanie Pfoser

Prof. Bracher will retire by Sept 2024.
Please do no longer apply for PhD or Postdoc positions and research internships!

Curriculum vitae

2020-2022 Director of the Department of Pharmacy
2010-2012 Director of the Department of Pharmacy
2007-2009 Member of the Senate of the University of Munich
2003-2005 Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
1997 Appointed Full Professor for Pharmacy at the University of Munich
1992-1997 Associate Professor (C3) at the Institute for Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the Technical University of Braunschweig
1992 Honored with the Carl-Mannich-Stipendium of the German Pharmaceutical Society
1991 Habilitation for Pharmaceutical Chemistry with a thesis dealing with natural product synthesis
1987-1992 “Hochschulassistent“ (Assistant Professor) at the Institute for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Philipps-University of Marburg
1986-1987 Postdoc at the Département de Chimie Organique, Université de Genève/ Switzerland in the group of Prof. Dr. W. Oppolzer (research topic: enantioselective synthesis of ß-lactames)
1982-1986 PhD student at the Institute for Pharmacy at the University of Munich in the group of Prof. Dr. E. Reimann. Thesis in Pharmacutical Chemistry dealing with the synthesis and stereochemistry of rigid analogues of the analgesic meperidine
1983 Approbation als Apotheker (pharmacist)
1978-1982 Student of pharmacy at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität of Munich

Memberships/ Positions in Organizations

Scientific Societies:

  • Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft (DPhG)
  • Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh)
  • Paul Ehrlich-Gesellschaft für Chemotherapie (PEG)
  • Münchner Chemische Gesellschaft (MChG)

Member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of „Letters in Organic Chemistry“, „Die Pharmazie“, „Scientia Pharmaceutica“ and „Mini-Reviews in Organic Chemistry“

Editor of the „Kommentar zum Europäischen Arzneibuch“ (Scientific commentation of the European Pharmacopoeia)

Member of the expert group for pharmaceutical chemistry of the „Deutsche Arzneibuchkommission“ (German Ph. Eur. Commission)

Member of the Scientific Board of the „Deutscher Arzneimittel-Codex“

First Deputy of the Ombudsperson for Self-Regulation in Science (Stellvertretender Beauftragter für die Selbstkontrolle in der Wissenschaft) (LMU Munich, 2009 - 2021)

Member of the Kontrollkommission and the Überprüfungskommission at the Institut für medizinische und pharmazeutische Prüfungsfragen (IMPP)