Department Pharmazie - Arbeitskreis Prof. Dr. F. Bracher
 
Home CUP  |  EDV-Service/Webmail  |  Intranet
Seite drucken   
LINKS

nach oben Research    nach oben Cooperations

Research topics

Natural products chemistry: Total syntheses and analysis of structure-activity-relationships

Secondary metabolites have manifold biological activities in living organisms, and have undergone optimization by nature over thousands of years. Hence, due to their bioactivity, but also their structural diversity natural products represent a most attractive source of lead structures for drug development.
We work out total syntheses of natural products with cytotoxic and/or antimicrobial activities (e.g. β-carbolines, polycyclic aromatic alkaloids, steroid alkaloids) from tropical plants (e.g. Annonaceae) and from marine organisms (tunicates, sea anemones, sponges). We focus on natural products with drug-like structures, i.e. manageable structural complexity and promising physico-chemical properties (Lipinski’s rule of five). Compounds with high biological activities are further modified in order to optimize their activity and selectivity, and to gain deeper insight into structure-activity relationships.

A number of these natural products served as lead structures for the development of bioactive compounds for epigenetic targets (kinase inhibitors, bromodomain inhibitors, histone deacetylase inhibitors,  …).

For a compilation of all natural products total syntheses of the Bracher group, see pdf Total Syntheses Bracher


Epigenetic targets: Kinases, bromodomains, macrodomains and histone deacetylases

The regulation of transcription of genetically encoded information is essential for all living organisms. Numerous posttranslational modifications of DNA and proteins (e.g. histones) are part of this regulation. These processes open new and attractive targets for new drugs for treating different diseases (cancer, inflammatory diseases, infections).
In cooperation with the Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) and other partners we develop new bioactive compounds for epigenetic targets. In many cases natural products from our own research (see above) acted as lead structures for these investigations.

Our most important targets are:

Kinases:
A number of natural products for which total syntheses had been developed in our group were found to be inhibitors of kinases. Starting from the β-carboline alkaloids bauerine C and annomontine we developed potent and selective inhibitors of the kinases CLK1, CLK3, PIM1, DYRK1A, and BMP2K.
Further characterization of these inhibitors was performed in cooperation with the following groups: Prof. Dr. S. Knapp (Oxford/Frankfurt), Prof. Dr. P. Filippakopoulos (Oxford), Prof. Dr. J. Schwaller (Basel), Dr. L. Meijer (ManRos, Roscoff), Prof. Dr. W. Becker (Aachen), Prof. Dr. T. Meyer (MPI für Infektionsbiologie, Berlin), Prof. Dr. A. Vollmar (LMU), Prof. Dr. S. Zahler (LMU), Prof. Dr. A. Aigner (Leipzig), Prof. Dr. U. Rauch-Kroehnert (Berlin), Prof. Dr. Robert Fürst (Frankfurt/Main).

Below you find structures of selected kinase inhibitors from our projects:



Co-crystallizations of inhibitors with kinases were performed at the Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK). Data are published in the Protein Data Bank (PDB) (see „Publications“).
An outstanding result of these investigations was the discovery of a novel, uncommon binding mode of chlorinated indole-type inhibitors to the hinge region of kinases by halogen bonding (Huber et al., 2012).

 

Bromodomains:
Bromodomains are epigenetic „readers“ which are involved in the regulation of N-acetylation of lysine residues in histones, and consequently in gene regulation. Bromodomain inhibitors represent potential drugs for treatment of different tumors, but also other diseases.
In cooperation with the Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) we develop inhibitors of several types of bromodomains (BRD, CREBBP,  …).


Some bromodomain inhibitors from the Bracher lab:

Macrodomains:
Macrodomains are involved in the regulation of ADP-ribosylation of proteins and in gene transcription.
In cooperation with the Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) we develop new types of macrodomain inhibitors.

Histonde deacetylases:
The interaction of DNA and histones is controlled on an epigenetic level by modifications of histone proteins (methylation, acetylation, …). The extent of lysine acetylation is a factor determining gene regulation. Inhibitors of histone deacetylases open new opportunities in tumor therapy, but also in fighting microbial and protozoal infections.

In cooperation with Prof. Dr. Manfred Jung (Freiburg) and Prof. Dr. W. Sippl (Halle) we develop novel inhibitors of histone deacetylases (sirtuins, HDAC6).
In cooperation with Prof. W. de Souza (Rio de Janeiro) and Prof. Dr. R. Pierce (Lille) we could demonstrate the potential of sirtuin inhibitors for treatment of protozoal infections.

 

Steroidomics:

Synthesis and analysis of steroids, development of sterol biosynthesis inhibitors

Inhibitors of ergosterol biosynthesis as new antifungals
Substances inhibiting enzymes in the biosynthesis of ergosterol, the main sterol in membranes of fungi, represent the most important class of antifungals. Until now only four of these enzymes are used as drug targets for antifungals. Our research is mainly aimed at the imitation of cationic “high energy intermediates“ of crucial steps of ergosterol biosynthesis, what results in inhibition of selected enzymes (e.g., Δ14-reductase, Δ8,Δ7-isomerase, C24-sterol methyltransferase, oxidosqualene cyclase, C22-desaturase, ...).
We worked out a cell-based assay for the identification of target enzymes in ergosterol biosynthesis in fungi, based on incubation of model strains with the potential enzyme inhibitors, followed by cell lysis and analysis of the modifications in the sterol patterns by GLC-MS/MS. For quantitation of the inhibitory activity we developed a GC-MS/MS protocol which does not afford the use of radioactive material.

A collection of ergosterol biosynthesis inhibitors:

Inhibitors of cholesterol biosynthesis as new antilipidemic drugs
In analogy to the screening system described above, we worked out a whole cell assay for the identification of inhibitors of cholesterol biosynthesis in human cells. For the quantitation of the inhibitory effect we once again use 13C-isotope labeling and GC-MS/MS analysis.

In the course of this research the first selective inhibitor of the enzyme lathosterol oxidase was developed. So the last gap concerning inhibitors of enzymes of the post-squalene part in cholesterol biosynthesis was closed.

A collection of cholesterol biosynthesis inhibitors:

For these assays we need intermediates of the biosynthesis pathways as reference standards. If necessary, new approaches to these sterols are worked out in our lab (Giera & Bracher 2008, Dittrich & Bracher 2015).

Analysis of steroids
Based on the expertise we gained in the installation of the sterol biosynthesis assays, we have outstanding experience in the analysis of steroids by means of high-end GC-MS/MS, including modern sample preparation techniques from complex matrices (SPE, QuEChERS, SPME). This expertise is highly appreciated by numerous cooperating groups for whom we identify and analyze steroids (ergosterol, cholesterol and metabolites, cholic acids, phytosterols) in cells, cell cultures, blood, tissues, feces, plant material, extracts, and drug preparations.

Our analytical experience is also applied to some cooperative projects for ultra trace analysis of drugs, toxins (e.g. nicotine), and pesticides in surface water and food samples.

Modulators of cation channels
In cooperation with Prof. Dr. Martin Biel and Dr. Christian Grimm (both LMU, Department of Pharmacy) we develop novel activators and inhibitors of cation channels, e.g. TRPML1-3. TRPML1 activators are potential drugs for treatment of the rare genetic disorder mucolipidosis type IV. Certain ion channnel blockers have a potential for treating Ebola virus infections.


Cooperations

 

Prof. Dr. Manfred Jung, Pharmazeutisches Institut, Universität Freiburg (inhibitors of sirtuins and und histone deacetylases)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Knapp, Structural Genomics Consortium, University of Oxford (GB) (kinase inhibitors, inhibitors of protein-protein-interactions, co-crystallizations)
Prof. Dr. Angelika Vollmar, PD Dr. Stefan Zahler, Dept. Pharmazie, LMU München (kinase inhibitors)
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Frieß, Dept. Pharmazie, LMU München (synthesis of new sugar-based excipients)
Prof. Dr. Walter Becker, Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie, RWTH Aachen (kinase inhibitors)
Prof. Dr. Gianni Balliano, Universität Turin (Oxidosqualencyclase-Inhibitoren)
Dr. Martin Giera, Universität Leiden (Lipidomics)
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda (USA) (screening of potential antitumor agents)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Meyer, MPI für Infektionsbiologie, Belin (virustatics)
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sippl, Institut für Pharmazie, Universität Halle-Wittenberg (molecular modelling)
Prof. Dr. Frank Böckler, Institut für Pharmazie, Universität Tübingen (molecular modelling)
Prof. Dr. Harald Steiner, Adolf Butenandt Institute, LMU Munich (gamma-secretase)
Dr. Frits Kamp, Adolf Butenandt Institute, LMU Munich (gamma-secretase)
Dr. Steffen Rupp,  Fraunhofer Institute for Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology, Stuttgart (molecular mechanisms of action of antifungals)
Prof. Dr. Sabine E. Kulling, Max Rubner Institute, Karlsruhe (biotransformation of secondary plant metabolites)
Prof. Dr. Achim Aigner, Rudolf-Boehm-Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie, Universität Leipzig (inhibitors of PIM kinases)
Dr. Jens Peter von Kries, Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP) (high throughput screening)  
Prof. Dr. Wanderley de Souza, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brasilien) (development of antiprotozoal drugs)
Dr. Daniela Mailänder-Sánchez, Prof. Dr. med. Martin Schaller, Medizinische Fakultät, Universität Tübingen (effect of probiotic bacteria on dermatomycoses) 
Dr. Ulrike Binder, Prof. Dr. Cornelia Lass-Flörl, Sektion für Hygiene und Medizinische Mikrobiologie (HMM) der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck (Österreich) (metabolism of pathogenic fungi and susceptibility to antifungal therapy)
Prof. Dr. Erika von Mutius, Kinderklinik und Kinderpoliklinik im Dr. von Haunerschen Kinderspital, LMU München (pediatry)
Prof. Dr. Robert Fürst, Institut für Pharmazeutische Biologie, Universität Frankfurt (antiinflammatory kinase inhibitors)
Dr. Fabio Gsaller, Universität Manchester (UK), Institute of Inflammation and Repair (mechanisms of fungal resistance)
Prof. Dr. Oded Livnah, Department of Chemical Biology, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (co-crystallization with kinases)

Department Pharmazie - Arbeitskreis Prof. Dr. F. Bracher
 
Startseite CUP  |  EDV-Service/Webmail  |  Intranet
English version English Version   
BELIEBTE LINKS

nach oben Forschung    nach oben Kooperationspartner

Forschung


Naturstoffchemie: Synthese und Analyse von Struktur-Aktivitäts-Beziehungen biologisch aktiver Naturstoffe

Sekundärstoffe erfüllen vielfältige Funktionen in lebenden Organismen und sind von der Natur über Jahrtausende optimiert worden. Daher stellen Naturstoffe wegen ihrer biologischen Aktivität, aber auch wegen ihrer strukturellen Diversität die wichtigste Quelle von Leitstrukturen für die Entwicklung neuer Arzneistoffe dar.
Wir entwickeln Totalsynthesen von Naturstoffen (u.a. β-Carboline, polycyclische aromatische Alkaloide, Steroidalkaloide) mit zytostatischer und antimikrobieller Wirksamkeit aus tropischen Pflanzen (Annonaceen u. a.) und aus marinen Organismen (Tunikaten, Seeanemonen, Schwämme). Wir konzentrieren uns stark auf Verbindungen, die schon „drug-like“ sind, also von überschaubarer Komplexizität und mit geeigneten physikalisch-chemischen Eigenschaften (Lipinski‘s rule of five). Bei den als besonders wirksam erkannten Naturstoffen werden systematische Strukturvariationen mit dem Ziel einer Optimierung der biologischen Aktivität und Selektivität und der Ableitung von Struktur-Aktivitäts-Beziehungen durchgeführt.

Diese Naturstoffe sind auch wichtige Leitstrukturen für die Entwicklung neuer Wirkstoffe für Epigenetische Targets (Kinase-Inhibitoren, Bromodomain-Inhibitoren, Inhibitoren von Histondeacetylasen etc.).

Eine Zusammenstellung aller Naturstoffsynthesen der Arbeitsgruppe finden Sie hier: pdf Total Syntheses Bracher



Epigenetische Targets: Kinasen, Bromodomains, Macrodomains und Histondeacetylasen

Die Regulation der Transkription der auf der DNA gespeicherten genetischen Information ist essenziell für jeden Organismus. An dieser Regulation sind zahlreiche posttranslationale Modifikationen von DNA und auch von Proteinen (z.B. Histonen) beteiligt. Diese Vorgänge bieten neue und attraktive Targets für Arzneistoffe zur Behandlung unterschiedlichster Erkrankungen (Krebs, Entzündungen, Infektionskrankheiten, …).
In Kooperation mit dem Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) und anderen Partnern entwickeln wir neue Wirkstoffe für diese Targets. Häufig dienen hier Naturstoffe, die in unserer Arbeitsgruppe synthetisiert wurden, als Leitstrukturen.


Die wichtigsten Targets sind:


Kinasen:
Ausgehend von den β-Carbolin-Alkaloiden Bauerin C und Annomontin wurden potente und selektive Inhibitoren der Kinasen CLK1, CLK3, PIM1, DYRK1A und BMP2K entwickelt.
An der weiteren Charakterisierung dieser Wirkstoffe waren folgende Arbeitsgruppen beteiligt: Prof. Dr. S. Knapp (Oxford/Frankfurt), Prof. Dr. P. Filippakopoulos (Oxford), Prof. Dr. J. Schwaller (Basel), Dr. L. Meijer (ManRos, Roscoff), Prof. Dr. W. Becker (Aachen), Prof. Dr. T. Meyer (MPI für Infektionsbiologie, Berlin), Prof. Dr. A. Vollmar (LMU), Prof. Dr. S. Zahler (LMU), Prof. Dr. A. Aigner (Leipzig), Prof. Dr. U. Rauch-Kroehnert (Berlin), Prof. Dr. Robert Fürst (Frankfurt/Main).

Nachfolgend eine Auswahl von Kinase-Inhibitoren aus unseren Projekten:


Co-Kristallisationen mit den Kinasen erfolgten am Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK). Die Ergebnisse sind in der Protein Data Bank (PDB) publiziert (siehe Auflistung unter „Publikationen“).
Ein spektakuläres Ergebnis dieser Forschung war die Entdeckung eines ungewöhnlichen Bindungsmodus von chlorierten Indol-Derivaten an der hinge region der Kinasen über Halogenbrücken (Huber et al., 2012).

Bromodomains:
Bromodomains sind epigenetische „Reader“ und maßgeblich beteiligt an der Regulation der N-Acetylierung von Lysinresten in Histonen, und somit an der Genregulation. Bromodomain-Inhibitoren sind somit potenzielle Wirkstoffe gegen bestimmte Krebsarten, aber auch andere Krankheiten.
In Kooperation mit dem Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) werden Inhibitoren von Bromodomains vom Typ der BRD, CREBBP u.a. entwickelt.


Einige unserer Bromodomain-Inhibitoren:

Macrodomains:
Macrodomains sind beteiligt an der Regulation der ADP-Ribosylierung von Proteinen und somit an Vorgängen wie Gentranskription.
In Kooperation mit dem Structural Genomics Consortium (Oxford, UK) werden neuartige Inhibitoren von Macrodomains entwickelt.

Histondeacetylasen:
Die Interaktion von DNA mit Histonen wird epigenetisch durch Modifikationen der Histonproteine reguliert (Methylierung, Acetylierung, …). Über den Acetylierungsgrad der Lysin-Seitenketten von Histonen wird die Transkription von Genen reguliert. Inhibitoren von Histondeacetylasen eröffnen somit eine neue Option in der Tumortherapie, aber auch in der Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten.

In Kooperation mit Prof. Dr. Manfred Jung (Freiburg) und Prof. Dr. W. Sippl (Halle) werden neuartige Inhibitoren von Histondeacetylasen (Sirtuine, HDAC6) entwickelt.
In Kooperation mit Prof. W. de Souza (Rio de Janeiro) und Prof. Dr. R. Pierce (Lille) konnte das Potenzial von Sirtuin-Inhibitoren zur Behandlung von Protozoenerkrankungen gezeigt werden.

Steroidomics:

Synthese und Analytik von Steroiden, Entwicklung von Sterolbiosynthese-Inhibitoren

Ergosterolbiosynthese-Inhibitoren als neue Antimykotika
Substanzen, die Enzyme der Ergosterolbiosynthese in Pilzen hemmen sind die wichtigste Klasse von Antimykotika, allerdings werden bisher erst vier der zahlreichen Enzyme dieser Biosynthese als Drug Targets genutzt. Durch Imitation von kationischen „High Energy Intermediates“ der Sterolbiosynthese, aber auch durch Synthese von Steroidanaloga und Steroidmimetika ist es uns gelungen, potente und selektive Inhibitoren von Enzymen der Ergosterolbiosynthese (Δ14-Reduktase, Δ8,Δ7-Isomerase, C24-Sterolmethyltransferase, Oxidosqualencyclase, C22-Desaturase …) in Pilzen zu entwickeln.
Ein zellbasiertes Testsystem zur Identifizierung der Zielenzyme von Inhibitoren der Ergosterolbiosynthese in Pilzzellen, basierend auf der Inkubation von Modellkeimen mit den potenziellen Inhibitoren, anschließender Lyse der Zellen und Analyse der Veränderungen im Sterolmuster mittels GC/MS, wurde etabliert. Für die Quantifizierung der inhibitorischen Aktivität wurde ein GC-MS/MS-Verfahren entwickelt, das ohne radioaktiv markierte Substanzen auskommt.


Eine Auswahl von Inhibitoren von Enzymen der Ergosterolbiosynthese:

Cholesterolbiosynthese-Inhibitoren als neuartige Lipidsenker
In Analogie zum oben beschriebenen Testsystem auf Hemmung der Ergosterolbiosynthese in Pilzen wurde unter Verwendung einer humanen Zelllinie ein Testsystem entwickelt, das es ermöglicht, Inhibitoren im „Post-Squalen-Abschnitt“ der Cholesterolbiosynthese zu identifizieren. Auch hier erfolgt die Quantifizierung der inhibitorischen Aktivität mittels GC-MS/MS nach Inkubation mit 13C-markiertem Acetat.

Im Rahmen dieser Arbeiten wurde die letzte Lücke bei den Inhibitoren des Post-Squalen-Abschnitts der Cholesterolbiosynthese geschlossen, indem mit MGI-39 der erste selektive Inhibitor des Enzyms Lathosteroloxidase entwickelt wurde.


Eine Auswahl von Inhibitoren von Enzymen der Cholesterol-Biosynthese:

Für die als Referenzsubstanzen benötigten Biosynthesezwischenstufen wurden von uns zum Teil selbst Synthesen entwickelt (Giera & Bracher 2008, Dittrich & Bracher 2015).

Sterolanalytik
Basierend auf der Expertise aus den oben erwähnten Sterolbiosynthese-Assays verfügen wir über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Analyse von Steroiden mittels GC-MS/MS incl. Probenvorbereitung aus komplexen Matrices (SPE, QuEChERS, SPME). Diese Kompetenz bringen wir in zahlreiche Kooperationsprojekte ein, in denen wir Steroide (Ergosterol, Cholesterol und deren Metaboliten, Gallensäuren, Phytosterole) aus Zellen, Zellkulturen, Blut, Geweben, Faeces, pflanzlichem Material bzw. Extrakten oder Fertigarzneimitteln identifizieren und quantifizieren.

Die analytische Expertise wurde auch eingesetzt für Kooperationsprojekte, in denen wir Ultraspurenanalytik von Arzneistoffen, Giften (Nicotin etc.) und Pflanzenschutzmitteln in Wasserproben und Lebensmitteln betrieben haben.

Modulatoren von Kationenkanälen
In Kooperation mit Prof. Dr. Martin Biel und Dr. Christian Grimm (beide LMU, Department für  Pharmazie) entwickeln wir neuartige Aktivatoren und Inhibitoren von Kationenkanälen, wie z.B. TRPML1-3. TRPML1-Aktivatoren stellen eine therapeutische Option für die Behandlung der seltenen Erbkrankheit Mukolipidose Typ IV dar. Bestimmte Ionenkanalblocker haben ein Potenzial als Wirkstoffe bei Infektionen mit dem Ebolavirus.

Kooperationspartner/Cooperations

 

Prof. Dr. Manfred Jung, Pharmazeutisches Institut, Universität Freiburg (Inhibitoren von Sirtuinen und Histon-Deacetylasen)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Knapp, Structural Genomics Consortium, University of Oxford (GB) (Kinase-Inhibitoren, Inhibitoren von Protein-Protein-Interaktionen, Cokristallisationen)
Prof. Dr. Angelika Vollmar, PD Dr. Stefan Zahler, Dept. Pharmazie, LMU München (Kinase-Inhibitoren)
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Frieß, Dept. Pharmazie, LMU München (Synthese neuer galenischer Hilfsstoffe)
Prof. Dr. Walter Becker, Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie, RWTH Aachen (Kinase-Inhibitoren)
Prof. Dr. Gianni Balliano, Universität Turin (Oxidosqualencyclase--Inhibitoren)
Dr. Martin Giera, Universität Leiden (Lipidomics)
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda (USA) (Screening potenzieller Zytostatika)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Meyer, MPI für Infektionsbiologie, Belin (Virustatika)
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sippl, Institut für Pharmazie, Universität Halle-Wittenberg (Sirtuine, Molecular Modelling)
Prof. Dr. Frank Böckler, Institut für Pharmazie, Universität Tübingen (Molecular Modelling)
Prof. Dr. Harald Steiner, Adolf-Butenandt-Institut, LMU München (gamma-Sekretase)
Dr. Frits Kamp, Adolf-Butenandt-Institut, LMU München (gamma-Sekretase)
Dr. Steffen Rupp, Fraunhofer-Institut für Grenzflächen- und Bioverfahrenstechnik, Stuttgart (Molekulare Wirkmechanismen von Antimykotika)
Prof. Dr. Sabine E. Kulling, Max-Rubner-Institut, Karlsruhe (Biotransformation sekundärer Pflanzenstoffe)
Prof. Dr. Achim Aigner, Rudolf-Boehm-Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie, Universität Leipzig (PIM-Kinaseinhibitoren)
Dr. Jens Peter von Kries, Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP) (High Throughput Screening)
Prof. Dr. Wanderley de Souza, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brasilien) (Entwicklung von Wirkstoffen gegen Protozoenerkrankungen)
Dr. Daniela Mailänder-Sánchez, Prof. Dr. med. Martin Schaller, Medizinische Fakultät, Universität Tübingen (Einfluss von probiotischer Bakterien auf lokalisierte Mykosen)
Dr. Ulrike Binder, Prof. Dr. Cornelia Lass-Flörl, Sektion für Hygiene und Medizinische Mikrobiologie (HMM) der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck (Österreich) (Stoffwechsel pathogener Pilze und Antimykotikatherapie)

Prof. Dr. Erika von Mutius, Kinderklinik und Kinderpoliklinik im Dr. von Haunerschen Kinderspital, LMU München (Pädiatrie)
Prof. Dr. Robert Fürst, Institut für Pharmazeutische Biologie, Universität Frankfurt (antiinflammatorische Kinase-Inhibitoren)
Dr. Fabio Gsaller, Universität Manchester (UK), Institute of Inflammation and Repair (pathogene und resistente Pilze)
Prof. Dr. Oded Livnah, Department of Chemical Biology, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Co-Kristallisationen mit Kinasen)